OSCIA Soil Champion Award

Do you know a Soil Champion?

Congratulations to the 2022 Soil Champion Award Winner,
Laurent (Woody) Van Arkel


Congratulations to the 2023 Soil Champions

2023 Soil Champion – Producer Category

Nick Stokman

Read More 

2023 Soil Champion – Research & Extension Category

Christine Brown

Read More 

What is a Soil Champion?

The award is presented annually by OSCIA and recognizes excellence in sustainable soil management and those who advocate for the cause.

Sustainable soil management practices may be defined as those that:

  • Make the most efficient use of nutrients.
  • Support systems with no net loss of organic matter and soil aggregate stability.
  • Build the population and diversity of soil organisms.
  • Effectively manages surface water to support reduced tillage systems.

Application Form

Applications for the 2024 Soil Champion Award are open. Complete your nomination before November 1st each year.

Interested in Applying?

Who is Eligible?

An individual must be a resident of Ontario and/or have contributed to soil management in a way that improves soil health, and supports sustainable crop production. You can nominate yourself or a soil advocate you know.

If you are nominating someone else, please ensure he/she is informed of your intention and is a willing participant.

Eligible practices that may be considered include:
  • Minimal use of tillage (primary tillage is not eligible).
  • Protect and enhance organic matter, soil biota and soil aggregation.
  • Efficient and careful use of nutrients.
  • Effective surface water management.
  • Windbreaks and land retirement.
  • The advancement of science and advocacy for soil care.

How can I nominate someone?


Click “Download Application Form” to get the pdf fillable nomination form.


Complete the nomination form. You may complete the form alone, or with the nominee. If you represent a local or regional association, ask your Regional Communication Coordinator (RCC) for help.


Gather supporting documentation and make copies to submit with the nomination form.


Submit the nomination form and supporting information by the November 1st deadline by:

Mail: 1-367 Woodlawn Road West, Guelph, Ontario, N1H 7K9
Email: avandepeer@ontariosoilcrop.org

Previous Winners

Laurent (Woody) Van Arkel
Read More→

Dr Laura Van Eerd
Research and Extension
Read More→

Henry Denotter

Read More→

Anne Loeffler
Research and Extension

Read More→

Anne Verhallen, OMAFRA
Research and Extension
Read More→

Jim Denys, Parkhill
Read More→

Daniel Breen, Middlesex

Read More→

Eric Kaiser, Lennox & Addington

Read More→

Tyler Vollmershausen, Oxford

Read More→

Dean Glenney, Haldimand

Read More→

Adam Hayes, OMAFRA

Read More→

You are navigating away from the OSCIA website! Vous êtes sur le point de quitter le site Web de l`AASRO !

You are leaving ontariosoilcrop.org to visit an external site not hosted by OSCIA. OSCIA is not responsible for content provided by this or other third-party sites, including those to which you may be redirected. You are subject to the Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions of the destination sites(s). Vous quittez le site Web ontariosoilcrop.org pour un site non hébergé par l`AASRO. L`AASRO n`est pas responsable du contenu de cet autre site ou d`autres sites tiers, y compris ceux vers lesquels vous pourriez être redirigé. Vous serez soumis à la politique de protection des renseignements personnels et aux conditions d`utilisation des sites de destination.


We want to hear from you!
How can we make our website better?

Nous voulons recevoir vos commentaires!
Comment pouvons-nous améliorer notre site Web?